

Professional Practice Committee: Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes—2022

Diabetes Care 2022;45(Suppl. 1):S3 | https://doi.org/10.2337/dc22-SPPC

The Professional Practice Committee (PPC) of the American Diabetes Association (ADA) is responsible for the "Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes." referred to as the Standards of Care. The PPC is a multidisciplinary expert committee comprising physicians, diabetes care and education specialists, and others who have expertise in a range of areas, including, but not limited to, adult and pediatric endocrinology, epidemiology, public health, cardiovascular risk management, microvascular complications, preconception and pregnancy care, weight management and diabetes prevention, and use of technology in diabetes management. Appointment to the PPC is based on excellence in clinical practice and research, with attention to appropriate representation of members based on considerations including but not limited to demographic, geographical, work setting, or identity characteristics (e.g., gender, ethnicity, ability level, etc.). Although the primary role of the PPC members is to review and update the Standards of Care, they may also be involved in ADA statements, reports, and reviews.

All members of the PPC are required to disclose potential conflicts of interest with industry and other relevant organizations. These disclosures are discussed at the outset of each Standards of Care revision meeting. Members of the committee, their employers, and their disclosed conflicts of interest are listed in "Disclosures: Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes—2022" (https://doi.org/10.2337/dc22-SPPC). The ADA funds development of the Standards of Care

out of its general revenues and does not use industry support for this purpose.

Relevant literature was thoroughly reviewed through 1 July 2021; additionally, critical updates published through 1 August 2021 were considered. Exceptions were made for ADA-convened consensus reports, like "The Management of Type 1 Diabetes in Adults. A Consensus Report by the American Diabetes Association (ADA) and the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD)" (https://doi.org/ 10.2337/dci21-0043). Recommendations were revised based on new evidence, new considerations for standard of care practices, or, in some cases, to clarify the prior recommendations or revise wording to match the strength of the published evidence. A table linking the changes in recommendations to new evidence can be reviewed online at professional .diabetes.org/SOC. The Standards of Care is reviewed by ADA scientific and medical staff and is approved by the ADA's Board of Directors, which includes health care professionals, scientists, and lay people.

Feedback from the larger clinical community was invaluable for the annual 2021 revision of the Standards of Care. Readers who wish to comment on the 2022 Standards of Care are invited to do so at professional.diabetes.org/SOC.

The PPC thanks the following individuals who provided their expertise in reviewing and/or consulting with the committee: Kristine Bell, APD, CDE, PhD; Lee-Shing Chang, MD; Alison B. Evert, MS, RDN, CDCES; Deborah Greenwood, PhD, RN, BC-ADM, CDCES, FADCES; Joy Hayes, MS, RDN, CDCES; Helen Lawler, MD;

Joshua J. Neumiller, PharmD, CDCES, FADCES, FASCP; Naushira Pandya, MD, CMD, FACP; Mary Elizabeth Patti, MD, FACP, FTOS; Marian Rewers, MD; Alissa Segal, PharmD, RPh, CDE, CDTC, FCCP; David Simmons, BA, MBBS, MA, MD, FRACP, FRCP; Christopher Still, DO, FACP, FTOS; Jennifer Sun, MD; Erika F. Werner, MD, MS; and Jennifer Wyckoff, MD.

American Diabetes Association

Members of the PPC

Boris Draznin, MD, PhD (Chair) Vanita R. Aroda, MD George Bakris, MD Gretchen Benson, RDN, LD, CDCES Florence M. Brown, MD RaShaye Freeman, DNP, FNP-BC, CDCES, ADM-BC Jennifer Green, MD Elbert Huang, MD, MPH, FACP Diana Isaacs, PharmD, BCPS, BC-ADM, CDCES Scott Kahan, MD, MPH Jose Leon, MD, MPH Sarah K. Lyons, MD Anne L. Peters, MD Priya Prahalad, MD, PhD Jane E.B. Reusch, MD Deborah Young-Hyman, PhD, CDCES

American College of Cardiology— Designated Representatives (Section 10)

Sandeep Das, MD, MPH, FACC Mikhail Kosiborod, MD, FACC

ADA Staff

Mindy Saraco, MHA (corresponding author: msaraco@diabetes.org) Malaika I. Hill, MA Robert A. Gabbay, MD, PhD Nuha Ali El Sayed, MD, MMSc